News & Media

Teams announced for Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic

Eight teams from the 2013 Tour de France headline the entry list for the inaugural Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic, which sees world-class pro cycling return to the roads of London and Surrey one year on from the Olympic Games.

Of the teams confirmed so far, defending Tour de France champions Sky Pro Cycling will be joined by Cannondale Pro Cycling, Garmin-Sharp, FDJ, Orica GreenEDGE, Vacansoleil DCM, Sojasun and the new Belkin Pro Cycling Team on the start line on Sunday 4 August.

For British cycling fans, Prudential RideLondon will be the first chance to see the new Belkin jersey, formerly Blanco Pro Cycling, competing on UK roads while the UCI ProTeam line-ups are likely to include many riders fresh from success in the Tour de France.

There will also be a healthy home interest in the biggest one-day classic to be held in the UK, with six British UCI Continental squads competing, plus the strongly home flavoured NetApp Endura ProContinental squad and a Great Britain national team, showcasing the next generation of home grown stars.

In total 22 of the 25 teams competing in the 140-mile Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic have been revealed. The complete line-up of teams and riders will be confirmed after the end of this year’s Tour de France.

“There has been huge interest in the event from the top teams,” said Mick Bennett, Race Director for the Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic. “The route, which is a variation of that used for the Olympic Road Cycling event plus three circuits of Leith Hill, together with extensive coverage on BBC and international TV, has been a big draw.”

Sky Procycling heads the team list, joined by the Garmin-Sharp team of British favourite David Millar and Australian squad Orica GreenEDGE, who won a stage of The Tour of Britain on their first visit to British shores in 2012.

The Italian Cannondale Pro Cycling team of Tour de France Green Jersey contender Peter Sagan, the French FDJ squad, Vacansoleil DCM and the Belkin team, who won The Tour of Britain on their last appearance in the UK when riding as Rabobank, will all also be on the start line in Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park.

Five UCI Pro Continental teams are also scheduled to appear, including the South African MTN Qhubeka squad, which won Milan San Remo with Gerald Ciolek earlier this year, and the Asian registered Champion System squad of Irish National Champion Matt Brammeier.

Further to the six British UCI Continental squads, who include riders like double Olympic champion Ed Clancy and The Tour of Britain’s SKODA King of the Mountains winner Kristian House among their number, are the Irish AN Post Chain Reaction and the new-for-2013 Synergy Baku Cycling Project from Azerbaijan, who both boast several riders familiar to British cycling fans.

The current list of confirmed teams is as follows (long list of riders for each team will be announced later in July):

UCI ProTeams
Belkin Pro Cycling Team (Ned)
Cannondale Pro Cycling (Ita)
FDJ (Fra)
Garmin Sharp (USA)
Orica GreenEDGE (Aus)
Sky Procycling (GBr)
Vacansoleil DCM (Ned)

UCI Pro Continental
Champion System Pro Cycling Team (Chn)
MTN Qhubeka Cycling Team (RSA)
Sojasun (Fra)
Team NetApp Endura (Ger)
Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise (Bel)

UCI Continental
AN Post Chain Reaction (Irl)
Joker Merida (Nor)
Madison Genesis (GBr)
Node4 Giordana Racing (GBr)
Rapha Condor-JLT (GBr)
Synergy Baku Cycling Project (Aze)
Team IG Sigma Sport (GBr)
Team Raleigh (GBr)
Team UK Youth (GBr)

National Team
Great Britain